Skip to main content
Home About Us

Board of Governors

2022 Board of Governors

2022 Board of Governors

Board of Governors

The University of Maryland Alumni Association Board of Governors evaluates the mission, strategic direction and future programming of the Alumni Association—an independent 501(c)(3) organization—and monitors the organization’s leadership, service and financial results. Elected members serve two consecutive two-year terms.  All schools and colleges have one representative on the board.  

Officers: Executive Council

A professional headshot of Laurie DeArmond.

Laurie A. DeArmond '94


Partner and National Co-Leader


Formal portrait of Rivest Jeff in a dark suit and red tie.

Jeffrey "Jeff" A. Rivest '75

Immediate Past President

Retired Health Care Executive

Formal portrait of Jim Spencer in a dark suit, red tie, and testudo turtle lapel pin

James "Jim" G. Spencer ’90

Past President

Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer Medical Guardian

A professional headshot of Bert Williams.

Bert D. Williams '96


Wilson Wang '03

Wilson Wang '03

Chair, Finance Committee

SVP, Chief Financial Officer, Treasurer

The MITRE Corporation

Amy Eichhorst, Executive Director

Amy F. Eichhorst


Associate Vice President, Alumni Donor and Relations

Executive Director, University of Maryland Alumni Association

Ex Officio Officers

A professional outdoor headshot of Darryll J. Pines.

Darryll J. Pines


University of Maryland

Jim Harris

Jim Harris

Vice President for University Relations

Interim President, UMCPF

University of Maryland

At-Large Members

Maria Ball '12

Maria Ball '12

Account Executive


A professional headshot of Marina Cooper.

Marina H. Cooper '03

AVP, Integrated Marketing & Brand Management

The Johns Hopkins University

A professional headshot of Patty Cousins.

Patricia "Patty" G. Cousins '87

Global Officer, HR Operations and Partnerships

Marriott International, Inc.

Laura Crandon '91

Laura A. R. Crandon '91

President & Founder


Steve Leonard '78

Steven "Steve" R. Leonard '78


American Truck & Bus, Inc.

A professional headshot of Jazz Lewis.

The Honorable Jazz M. Lewis '11, MPP '14


District 24, Maryland House of Delegates

Rocky Lopes '80

Rocky Lopes '80

Retired Emergency Manager


A professional headshot of Cate Luzio.

Catherine "Cate" Luzio '97

Founder and CEO


Alethia Nancoo '90, M.Ed. '92

Alethia Nancoo '90, M.Ed. '92


Squire Patton Boggs, LLC

Peter Polow '95

Peter Polow '95


P&G Equities, Inc.

Susan Wood

Susan A. Wood '84

President and Chief Executive Officer

VIDA Diagnostics, Inc.

A professional headshot of Derrin Woodhouse.

Derrin A. Woodhouse '95

Vice President of Entertainment & Influencer Marketing

Tommy Hilfiger

Amy Yip '04

Amy Yip '04


Amy Yip Coaching

A professional headshot of Shayan Zadeh.

Shayan G. Zadeh '02

Founder and CEO

Leap Rail, Inc.


Matt Jones

Matthew "Matt" J. Jones '15

School of Architecture, Planning and Preservation

Planning & Transportation Manager

National Landing Business Improvement District

A professional headshot of Betsy Read-Connole.

Elizabeth "Betsy" L. Read-Connole '00

College of Computer, Mathematical, and Natural Sciences

Section Chief Cancer Etiology

NIH/NCI Division of Cancer Biology

Jeff Karceski

Jeffrey "Jeff" D. Karceski, Esq. '88

A. James Clark School of Engineering

Patent Attorney

Karceski IP Law, PLLC


College of Information Studies



A professional headshot of Jameson Roth.

Jameson E. Roth '16, '17

School of Public Health

Senior Account Manager

McCabe Message Partners

Kate E. Pfetsch '05

Philip Merrill College of Journalism

Bishop Sakyi '11

College of Behavioral & Social Sciences

Jonathan Garcia '20

School of Public Policy

Research Associate

National Academy of Public Administration

Elizabeth "Liz" O'Keefe Markham '17

School of Agriculture and Natural Resources

GIS Analyst

Straughan Environmental Services

Denise Sughrue, MBA '94

Robert H. Smith School of Business


Linda Beck Pieplow '72 '78

College of Education

Retired Teacher

Howard County Public Schools

Da'Veda "Veda" N. Johnson '11

College of Arts & Humanities


U.S. Department of Commerce

Ex Officio Members

A professional headshot of Jordan Goodman, with a gold Terrapin pin on the right lapel.

Jordan A. Goodman '73, M.S. '75, Ph.D. '78

Faculty Representative

Department of Physics

University of Maryland

A professional headshot of Laura Chiriaco.

Laura E. Chiriaco '08

M Club Representative

Program Director


Zoe Nicholson '24

Student Alumni Leadership Council (SALC)


Alexandra "Alex" M. DeBus '24

Student Government Association (SGA)


Autumn Perkey '24

Graduate Student Government (GSG)


Dr. Stephanie H. Chang '18

Office of Diversity & Inclusion Representative


Mark N. Rabinowitz '05

Assurance Partner

Ernst & Young

Juan Sempertegui '98

Deputy General Counsel

Silvy Song '06

Senior Conference Manager

Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology (FASEB)

Past Presidents

Kirk Bell, a past president of the UMD Alumni Association

Kirk D. Bell '88


A professional Wanda Alexander.

Wanda A. Alexander '87


Nicole Pollard

Nicole R. Pollard '91


Timmy F. Ruppersberger, Esq. '77


Steve Rotter

Steven "Steve" M. Rotter '82


A professional headshot of Chip Sollins.

Chip Sollins



  • Laurie De Armond, President
  • Jeff Rivest, Immediate Past President
  • Jim Spencer, Past President
  • Bert Williams, President Elect
  • Wilson Wang, Chair, Finance Committee
  • Amy Eichhorst, Secretary/Executive Director
  • Jessica Roberts, Staff
  • Bert Williams, Chair
  • Maria Ball, Liaison for DEI
  • Patty Cousins
  • Jazz Lewis
  • Susan Wood
  • Jeff Williams, Staff
  • Angela Dimopoulos, Staff
  • Wilson Wang, Chair
  • Laura Crandon
  • Matthew Miller **
  • Alethia Nancoo
  • Peter Polow
  • Mark Rabinowitz
  • Juan Sempertegui
  • Jim Spencer
  • Peter Canine, Staff
  • Trevor Rickford, Staff


  • Marina Cooper, Chair
  • Jonathan Garcia
  • Veda Johnson
  • Betsy Read-Connole
  • Bishop Sakyi
  • Amy Yip, Liaison for DEI
  • ChristieLyn Diller, Staff
  • Jessica Lee, Staff


  • Shayan Zadeh, Chair
  • Matt Jones
  • Steve Leonard
  • Rocky Lopes, Liaison for DEI
  • Liz O'Keefe-Markham
  • Kate Pfetsch
  • Linda Pieplow
  • Jameson Roth
  • Angela Dimopoulos, Staff
  • Natalie Ross, Staff


  • Cate Luzio, Chair
  • Maria Ball
  • Jeff Karceski
  • Rocky Lopes
  • Denise Sughrue
  • Amy Yip
  • Jeff Williams, Staff
  • Ellie Geraghty, Staff